Make your own free website on Tripod.com

www.indie-music.com review

FEB 9, 2004

Quote: "Brandon Patton is remarkably creative, sardonically funny, and very much in love with music."

Review:
This is what strums my strings. Free-spirited, go-with-the-flow, reckless highs and dreamy lows songwriting. Unpredictable melodies carrying teenage moodswing memories, brought to us by an unpretentious poet with an occasionally mischievous potty-mouth who has a knack for infusing minor chords here and there, suddenly turning the vibe magically ethereal.

And it’s only eight-thirty in the morning. My day is open to a million possibilities right now.

In case you can’t tell, I love this CD. I love this artist. Brandon Patton is remarkably creative, sardonically funny, and very much in love with music. The very first track, “Counting the Paces,” is a lullaby tempo with anguished lyrics of loneliness and stagnation. Through its delicate and hypnotic delivery, he makes it sound beautiful. The imagery doesn’t hurt either. “I feel like I’m covered in sand,” he breathes.

I get the idea Patton is young. Most of his songs focus on teenagers and their stumbling search for who they are. “Mo Song” is a standout, with its staccato folk storytelling about a crush on a sensitive soul. My favorite moment in this song is a brief excursion from reality as he chats with a Redwood tree, which may not have anything to do with having a crush on someone, but that’s the kind of ride you’re in for. Tangential paths. Just flow with him.

One of the most visual tracks is “Thirty-one Hundred Miles,” with intriguing percussion that sounds like the clacking of the train he’s singing about. (Hats off to Scott Kessel and his “drumship enterprise” for much of the outstanding percussion on this CD.) The shuffling delivery on this track and distorted and scratchy recordings floating in and out make this one song I would love to see made into a video.

My absolute favorite track, the one that seems to sum up everything Patton is about, is the totally spontaneous “Auspicious Moment.” Patton and his friend Anand pulled a page from one of Patton’s old journals and just started rapping the words over a chaotic drum jam. Caught daydreaming about (what else?) sex during history class, the bored teen mimics his teacher’s reprimand: “No, I don’t know the answer, and no, I have no retention.” The two crack self-depreciating jokes at their own writing, dissolve into laughter in a few places, and had me laughing out loud right along with them. Patton makes the perfect comment about this song in the liner notes: “Remember when joy was this easy?”

I remembered it a little just listening to this CD. Forget your coffee – just listen to this CD first thing in the morning and then go outside and play.

By Jennifer Layton, www.indie-music.com

_________________________________________________________________

www.inquisitor.com review

JAN 30, 2004

Review: I'm sitting at work, and recalling a dream last night in which my boss confronts me and screams at me for working on my web site all day from his office. I reply: "Since you only pay me 70 percent of what I should be making and haven't given me a raise in three years, I feel entitled to only work 70 percent of the time I am here." Apropos of nothing, that little vignette, but while wage-slaving away, I am listening to Brandon Patton's CD Should Confusion (the title alone cracks me up) and, well, it's making me very very happy. As happy as Brandon's crisp, clear, happy guitar playing. The songs are sometimes melancholy, sometimes quite poppy, but all have a great slightly-awry folky feel; Brandon's got it down, and plays with the form, while the little narratives of each song just keep rolling on. (Okay, now we know why I've got other people doing record reviews). It's not easy to get me smiling on a Friday at work...THANKS BRANDON! P.S.: "Auspicious Moment" cracks me UP.

–Daniel Drennan, editor, www.Inquisitor.com, Jan 30 2004

_________________________________________________________________

thecelebritycafe.com review

http://thecelebritycafe.com/cd/full_review/1695.html

The Celebrity Café – syndicated on headlines throughout the internet, including Ask News, Google News and AltaVista News, including dozens of others.

Brandon Patton - Should Confusion -

Brandon shouldn't be so depressed. He's a good guy and he plays good music. It seems that playing happy music in Cape Cod eventually got to his spirit and this CD is an expression of his new attitude. He expresses angst, confusion and frustration with the best of them, coming out with a damn good CD.

--Michael, new pop writer, the celebrity cafe

Reviewer's Rating: 7.5

_________________________________________________________________

Aiding & Abetting review

Patton has that “breathy vocals floating above neo-folk” sound down, even though Patton’s conception of neo-folk is much more Beck than, say, Fairport Covention. And Patton isn’t against letting loose and rocking out every now and then.

I like those loud moments best. That’s when Patton sounds most at ease and where he also finds a space he can call his own. Which is not to say that the folkier stuff sucks; it doesn’t. In fact, it compares well to Nick Drake and his ilk. But it’s been done and I just keep hearing dead people.

The production is impressive, making this album sound a lot fuller than your average one-man effort. Yeah. Patton has some help, but he does most of the heavy work here. Not that you could tell from the sound.

Just a nice, comfy set of songs. Patton refuses to tie himself to any one sound or idea, and I like that.

--Aiding & Abetting Feb 2004

_________________________________________________________________

emergentmusic review


Brandon is brilliant. He articulates emotion in words and music like no other boy with a guitar. There's a bit of everything on this album.

- Musicophile at 2:51 PM on January 13 2004
- www.emergentmusic.com

_________________________________________________________________

southofmainstream review

reviewed by screenshavenoemotions

Brandon Patton’s latest release Should Confusion starts out as an extremely strong recording. The first track “Counting the Paces,” a very somber, melancholy song with vocal arrangements very similar to that of Simon & Garfunkel’s album Bridge Over Troubled Water, is a great mood setter. I was inspired to sit back, think and even write, while listening. The album's second track may be its most outstanding. “What’s the Worst that could Happen?” ranges from acoustic verses, reminiscent of Duncan Sheik, to full band, up-tempo choruses that bring to mind the music of Knapsack. These two songs open this album with a very full sound that encourages you to listen on.

From there, Should Confusion has a lot of ups and downs. The songs range from happy feeling tracks, with words being rattled off in a sort of “folk-rap” way, to 60’s folk songs with old show-tune bridges, some tracks could easily be found on the next Toy Story movie soundtrack and still others are purely beautiful with melodies that resonate in your heart.

The most defining attribute of Should Confusion is Brandon’s clear, warm guitar tone that really helps make the songs. There are songs that seem more heartfelt than others and those are the ones that make this album worth listening to. They are well written, well recorded and make for a great soundtrack to your day. He is a good guitar player and knows how to write a song, but seems to lose his focus at times. The weakest point of this recording is the track “Auspicious Moment” that seems to be a humorous spur-of-the-moment song that he and a friend recorded. It doesn’t fit with the rest of the album and stands out as a nuisance when you are trying to get into the flow of the recording. Hint: if you are trying to make a recording for people other than your friends, you probably shouldn’t include inside jokes. If you take away a few of the directionless songs, Should Confusion would make a really great E.P.

Favorite Tracks:
#1 – Counting the Paces
#2 – What’s the Worst that could Happen?
#9 – Someday When We’re Old

Genre: Pop/Folk Rock

_________________________________________________________________

INDULGED review

reviewed by Andy

Minnesota native Brandon Patton has a pretty thick resume leading up to the release of this album. He made his first solo record called Nocturnal in 1997, and then went on to front a Boston outfit called Three Against Four, which played their first show where every great band starts out: The Middle East (upstairs). After two albums in 1997 and 2000, the band has since parted ways, but not without earning a spot on the TV shows "Monster Garage" (Discovery) and "Pop Stars" (MTV). Brandon, who now lives in Brooklyn, NY, released this second solo record in August 2003, and is currently promoting it (and not his non-existent publicist). He created the album on his own record label, and he also books his own tours. And, oh yeah, he writes good music too.

Bordering on folk and rock, Should Confusion isn't your typical one-man acoustic guitar stuff; there's a wealth of instruments and guest musicians on this record to create a fulfilling sound. It isn't a masterpiece, and it wasn't intended to be. It's upbeat, laid back, emotional, and funny, all-in-one. On the surface, it sounds a bit like Belle & Sebastian, Elliot Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel, Nick Drake, and Onelinedrawing (perhaps Brandon should name his solo project, because it seems you live longer in his genre if you do).

My favorite tracks are the first three: "Counting The Paces", "What's The Worst That Could Happen?", and "Mo Song". You can download all of them from his website, so check them out. You can also download "3100 Miles", the fourth song on the record, which isn't bad either.
rating: 4 out of 5

_________________________________________________________________

amazon review


Fantastic!! October 9, 2003

This is a fabulous album -- Patton's best so far. Beautiful lyrics, great use of acoustic guitar and myriad other instruments, great vocal range, just great stuff. It feels like everything else Patton has done has been in anticipation of, and leading up to, this point. His diverse range of musical interests and abilities are on on display here, and all working together. Really a great album; I highly recommend it!!

--anonymous reviewer: A music fan from Berkeley, CA, posted on amazon.com

_________________________________________________________________